RSS Feed

Off-Dry Wine Whine Featuring Lingenfelder

Posted on

I never miss the opportunity to buy a few bottles of Lingenfelder Bird Label Riesling when it comes into Vintages (twice a year, I think).

I just don’t know how you could get a better off-dry riesling for $13.95. Which brings me to my whine. It seems every time I mention that I like riesling someone says “Oh, I can’t drink sweet wine”. Being an ABC (Anything but Chardonnay) wine drinker, I really shouldn’t judge. I should just accept. But, I can’t help wondering if they’ve only ever had Blue Nun or Black Tower and think all riesling is sickly sweet. See, I’m willing to admit that I can appreciate a really good chardonnay. But most really good chardonnay is about $50 a bottle. So the option is usually cheap chardonnay, and I may as well lick the side of an oak barrel. But you can get a really good riesling for $18 a bottle and not resort to Blue Nun. A couple of times a year, you can buy this good riesling for only $13.95.

ANYWAY, the 2010 Lingenfelder Bird Label Riesling pleases me, as has every year before it. Vintages says “this off-dry wine features lovely aromas of peach, nectarine, and citrus”….sounds about right. I always get a bit of honey, too. It has a lovely label to boot, which would make it a great gift wine if everyone didn’t hate off-dry wine. Harumph.

Whine about wine:

